The Return

The Return

(with respect to all those seeking refuge)

In the sea

in unknown waters

hands clinging

skin succumbing

to freezing fear.

I return.

Eyes screaming

feet imploring

mouths calling

to life-giving lights.

I return

again and again

to that place in my chest

where panic pours

through my gut

and horror hammers my head

as I see ‘us’

turn away.

It is not me ‘we’ turn from

yet I recognize

in hands

skin

eyes

feet

mouths

the return

of an unwillingness to love.

– Janet Galbraith

Leave a Reply

